Beating . . . er . . . Honoring Your Wife the Shariah Way

Get ready for the hope and change!  We approach it every day.

In an ABC “Townhall” hosted by Christiana Amanpour on October 3 entitled “Holy War: Should Americans Fear Islam?”, one of the guests was Anjem Choudary.  Mr. Choudary is a Muslim cleric stating openly that the goal of Islam is to have a single world Caliphate where everyone is either Muslim or dead. I do not say that this is the goal of Radical Islam because I am talking about Mr. Choudary’s representations and his is the only true kind of Islam, which is not Radical.  I emphasize openly lest I be accused of spreading a conspiracy theory, which requires secretiveness and stealth.  For those of you who are Radical Islam Deniers, you should perhaps look up the other 377,465 times that this goal has been publicly stated in English.

Mr. Choudary states on this ABC program: “We do believe as Muslims the East and the West will be governed by the Sharia.  Indeed we believe that one day the flag of Islam will fly over the White House. Indeed, there’s even an oration of the Prophet where he said, ‘The day of judgment will not come until a group of my…’”

At this point, he is interrupted, so a couple of subsequent words are not clear, but he is stating a hadith (saying of Muhammad) related by a 10th century Muslim scholar that “The final hour will not come until Muslims conquer the white house.”  The implication is that the white house in the prophesy is the White House.

With this astounding vison of things to come, I thought that we in America should start educating ourselves for the future, so I looked around the internet to find somewhere to begin the learning process.  I happened upon an appropriate source on a website that translates Arabic TV programs.  On February 4, 2010, a cleric, S’ad Arafat, was interviewed on Egyptian TV.  I watched the video at: http://www.memri.org/report/en/0/0/0/0/0/0/4626.htm (Fortunately, the video was subtitled because I haven’t yet learned to speak Arabic.)  It was about the Shariah rules with respect to beating your wife.

As Mr. Arafat says in this video, “Allah honored wives by instating the punishment of beatings.”  I know if my husband beat me, I would feel honored!  I also agree with the 90% of British women cited in this interview as wanting a “manly man,” not one who cries at the first sign of trouble.  The inference is that one quality of a “manly man” (as opposed to a blubbering one)  is that he beats his wife.

Being somewhat vain, I was relieved to find out in this video that “The prophet Muhammad said:  ‘Don’t beat her in the face, and do not make her ugly.’”  This has to be one of the more important rules because the guy mentions it twice in his instructions.  I would certainly like to keep my face free from marks if I were beaten.  Of course, I would have to cover up my face if I went out in public, anyway, so I’m not sure it will be as important in the future.

Also included in the restrictions noted by Mr. Arafat is that “. . . there must not be more than ten beatings, and he must not break her bones, injure her, break her teeth, or poke her in the eye. There is a beating etiquette. If he beats to discipline her, he must not raise his hand high. He must beat her from chest level.”  A husband can use his hands or a short rod, but not a long rod for the beating.

I was curious about one thing:  Even if a husband tries not to inflict major damage, what if he gets carried away in the process and breaks a bone, or a stray blow smacks his wife across the face?  The cleric didn’t really go over those small details.

I think the most humane aspect of the beating rules comes in the restriction on cursing:  When the beating occurs, the husband must not curse the wife.  Hallelujah, or should I say Allah be praised!  It is dreadful to think of the terrible damage that could be inflicted by accompanying the physical abuse with verbal abuse.  I think it showed so much foresight on Mohammed’s part all those centuries ago to recognize that verbal abuse is way over the top.

Lest you husbands out there are chomping at the bit to get started with practice, you have to know there is, according to this cleric, only one reason for beating your wife:  If she refuses to have sex with you.  You can go elsewhere for food or water if she refuses to feed you, but you “cannot do without” sex, so beating may be necessary.  (I suppose you could go to one of your other wives, but that’s another detail that the cleric didn’t cover.)  Again, you can’t just jump into a beating.  You must begin with “admonishment and threats” prior to resorting to a beating.

Given that the rules around wife beating appear to be much more restrictive and complicated than I previously supposed, I think I need to get my husband started on honoring me (according to Allah) by getting a book so that he can learn the proper technique.  What he does now may not be Islamically kosher.  I’ll put it on my Christmas shopping list.  I hope it can wait that long.

Published in: on October 5, 2010 at 9:21 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://silencetoolong.wordpress.com/2010/10/05/beating-er-honoring-your-wife-the-shariah-way/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

